Niagara Real Estate and Neighbourhood:
Toronto's Niagara district is a blend of residential, commercial and recreational all within the same neighbourhood. As the original city of Toronto was in its development phase, in the early to mid 1800’s, Niagara Street was designated a boundary street for the city. In the first half to the 1900’s, the Niagara neighbourhood was known as the industrial centre for the city, primarily in the area what’s known as Liberty Village today. In addition to significant condominium development, you will find a mix of Victorian homes in addition to Edwardian and row houses. Many of the homes were built between 1860 and 1910 and average between 1,200 and 2,000 square feet in size.
Liberty Village or King West were considered at the forefront of the condo development boom of the early 2000’s. Liberty Village has undergone a significant change since that time and is now populated with high, mid and low rise condominium apartments. There were a number of condo loft conversions from the old industrial buildings in the neighbourhood.
At the heart of the cultural spectrum of the neighbourhood, Exhibition Place, is well known to city residents. Annually, at the end of August, the Canadian Naitional Exhibiton is held at Exhbition Place. The first provincial Agicultural Fair was held at Exibition Place in 1878 and has been an annual tradition ever since. Across to the south of Lakeshore Blvd, an amusement park named Ontario Place was built in the early 1970’s. More recently BMO Field was constructed on the grounds and hosts Toronto FC and Canadian National Soccer games.
The main shopping area in the neighbourhood is located on Queen Street West and is known for its fashion and design shops. The area's recreational facilities are located at Trinity-Bellwoods park, which includes tennis courts, baseball diamond, multi-use sports fields, wading pool and children's play ground.
Niagara boasts a public school called Niagara Public, which is a combined junior and senior school. There is a catholic school named St. Mary’s and two high schools: Central Technical School and Harbord Collegiate Institute.