Humewood - Central Toronto Real Estate
The area known as Humewood-Cedarvale is called by both names interchangeably but specifically, the north half of the neighbourhood is Cedarvale and the south half is Humewood, also sometimes simply referred to as 'The Woods' because of the prevalence of street names ending in '-wood'. Humewood was named after William Hume Blake and Humewood was originally once part of his estate, named 'Humewood' after his ancestral home in Ireland. The house was sold by the Blake family in the 1870's and burned down shortly thereafter but was replaced by a similarly-sized house and remains a local landmark.
Humewood sports many tree-lined street and cul-de-sacs throughout the neighbourhood and many of these are one-way with very few through streets, limiting and regulating the flow of vehicular traffic in the quiet neighbourhood. The detached and semi-detached houses were mostly built between 1910 and 1925 and come in a wide spectrum of architectural styles that include English Cottage, Edwardian and Tudor styles. Characteristic touches like front porches and large dormer windows are the norm. Cedarvale's Tudor and Georgian style homes were mostly built between 1920 and 1950 and they sit on expansive lots that overlook the ravine.
The namesake Cedarvale Park is a must-see attraction of the neighbourhood and it makes its way diagonally across Cedarvale. The park has a baseball diamond, tennis courts, soccer fields and a skating rink, and also implemented an enclosed off-leash area for for dogs. There is also an environmental education program called Families In Nature which holds court in a meadow near a tributary of the Don River. The parks department of Toronto has converted this area into a wetland habitat for native flora and fauna to grow and improve water quality while managing drought and flooding conditions.